Thanksgiving Psalm

Thanksgiving is a time to reflect on all the blessings our heavenly Father disposes on His people and all mankind. This morning I looked up several passages in the Bible that had thanksgiving in them. I was the most struck by the following verses from Psalm 118.

Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever! Let Israel say, “His steadfast love endures forever.” Let the house of Aaron say, “His steadfast love endures forever.” Let those who fear the LORD say, “His steadfast love endures forever.”… You are my God, and I will give thanks to you; you are my God; I will extol you. Oh give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; for his steadfast love endures forever!’ Psalm 118: 1-4; 28-29

Even though there have been times in my life when I don’t understand why the circumstances in my life are the way they are, the Lord has been there. He is good all the time– whether I understand His ways or not. HIS steadfast love endures forever! And so I give thanks to my God who has saved me and continues to show His steadfast love to me, a sinner saved by grace.

One thought on “Thanksgiving Psalm

  1. A very enduring blog post Heather!

    I was commenting to Don at work how nice it was to have a holiday where we can just gather together and be with family… and just be thankful.

    The package man says Thanksgiving is his favorite holiday too! Because he doesn’t have to race around delivering packages 2 months in advance for it.

    “Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth (Psalm 46:10)!”

Leave a Reply

