Serving Others

“Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Therefore God has highly exalted him and bestowed on him the name that is above every name, so that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”   Phil. 2:3-11  ESV

(italics added)

I read this passage yesterday, and was struck with the thought of how often I don’t consider others more significant above myself. I look to my own interests instead of others. I spend time doing what I want to do instead of seeking the good of my family and friends. Who is my example of servant-hood? Jesus Christ, being the God-man, made Himself nothing and took the form of a servant. He humbled Himself even to death on a cross! I asked myself, “how I am seeking to become a servant to others, putting them above myself?”. This is an area I need the Lord’s help in, as I strive to become more like Christ, who was the servant to all mankind.

I also was reminded of a conversation my mom had with us children the other day about how all men one day will have to bend their knee to God. It doesn’t matter if they have never bent their knee here on earth to Him; before the judgement seat of Christ, they will bend their knee and confess that He is LORD! Mom reminded us that it would be far better to have bent the knee to Christ here on earth, than to kneel before Christ on the judgement day and then be thrown into the lake of fire-hell, having rejected Christ on earth. All men will be held accountable for how they live their lives. May the Lord find me faithful to share of His boundless love and great salvation with the lost around me.

2 thoughts on “Serving Others

  1. I couldn’t resist leaving a response to this post, Heather.

    I appreciate your humility. I want to say that though you may desire to grow in servant-hood, I am an eye-witness of you laying down your life for others again and again. Yes, grow ~ and never stop growing by the grace of God ~ but know also how much you are already appreciated by so many (ME for one :-), and 1, 2, 3, 4, 5,…12,…15,…20,…30,…others) who have been blessed by your many, consistent acts of kindness and selflessness. Thank you for all that you do and sacrifice for others!

    And thank you for provoking me to examine my own heart in serving others. Oh, that I would consistently put others above myself! I guess we will never stop needing to grow in this!

    Love Ya,
    Mom

  2. Hey, I guess this is a family post, so should I should jump in too.

    I really appreciate the scripture you posted here. Just a couple weeks ago, God was really pressing matters like that upon my heart. I was so conscious of the fact that I too often don’t put others first. I felt like a corked bottle— God has blessed me with so much, and it didn’t seem like I had any way to be a blessing to others, especially those who are presently far from knowing God. But then, this week has been the complete opposite. God gave an opportunity to be a blessing to others, and then it seems like I immediately turned back to only thinking of myself; I became a corked bottle because I didn’t even seem to have much desire to even be blessing. Satan was attacking me, and I wasn’t fighting back— I was spending less time in the Word and prayer, less time in communion with God.

    Yet, through it all, I am so grateful that our God is so full of patience and loving kindness, for once again he has sat me down and begun to teach me this lesson again.

    Love ya, sis!

Leave a Reply

