Weekend in North Carolina

Mom, Jonathan & Dad last year

Mom, Jonathan & Dad last year

This past weekend I went to North Carolina with some of my family to say goodbye to my brother, Jonathan, who is in the Marines. He was deployed Sunday to Iraq. It was a blessing to spend time with him and just be together. I didn’t have the proper vehicle documents to get us on base, so we went out for lunch and then to the beach to spend time together. It rained the whole day, so our time looking at the ocean was very wet!! But it was beautiful nonetheless.

I was hosted by a family at the end of December in Graham, NC, for an End of Year Conference, so we called them to see if we could stay with them this past weekend. They graciously opened their home and their hearts to us and we experienced true Southern hospitality! Thank you Byrd family!!

Here are some pictures from the weekend. Please keep my brother Jonathan in your prayers, for his safety both physically and spiritually, and that he would find fellowship with other believers while in Iraq.

Playing games in the car

Playing games in the car

Not the best picture, but the three of us kids who went, me, Justin and Martin

Not the best picture, but the three of us kids who went, me, Justin and Martin

Camp LeJeune front gate- the farthest we got!

Camp LeJeune front gate- the farthest we got!

Justin, Martin and Jonathan

Justin, Martin and Jonathan

I thought this picture was really neat!

I thought this picture was really neat!

The beach

Beautiful even in the rain

Beautiful even in the rain

Looking at the birds and water

Looking at the birds and water

Mom snapped this picture

Mom snapped this picture

Jonathan & mom, special mother/son moment

Jonathan & mom, special mother/son moment

Jonathan & Me

Jonathan & Me

Jonathan & Martin

Jonathan & Martin

The mountains in the winter on the way home

The mountains in the winter on the way home

6 thoughts on “Weekend in North Carolina

  1. I’m glad you made it there and back safely! Sounds like it was a good trip (apart from the weather). I will keep Jonathan in my prayers, but is there anything I should specifically be praying for besides safety?

  2. I’m glad you had such a nice trip, Heather! I look forward to hearing about it soon 🙂
    Yes, like Jessica said, please keep us updated on how to pray for Jonathan.

  3. Beautiful pics, Heather! We’ll be praying regularly for Johnathan and for you guys, too. Love you.

  4. Thanks for the comments, girls! Jessica and Melody, you can see I updated the prayer request at the end of the post. Thanks for praying.

  5. hey!!please Heather say to Jonathan that I `m praying for him and I hope that God protect him.
    Thanks!
    GBY(==)

Leave a Reply

