Whate’er My God Ordains is Right

The title of this blog post is the title to a hymn we sang in NC at the church my family visited when we went to see Jonathan. The past couple of years God has been teaching me that whatever He ordains for my life is right. I may not understand why He has ordained a certain path for me, but I am learning that God’s paths are always better than mine and for my good. As His daughter, I know that He will not leave me or forsake me. I can trust His promises in His Word because His promises have held true in the past.

Whate’er My God Ordains is Right

1.  Whate’er my God ordains is right: Holy His will abideth;

I will be still whate’er he doth, and follow where He guideth:

He is my God; though dark my road, He holds me that I shall not fall:

Wherefore to Him I leave it all, I leave it all.

 

2.  Whate’er my God ordains is right: He never will deceive me;

He leads me by the proper path; I know He will not leave me:

I take, content, what He hath sent; His hand can turn my griefs away,

And patiently I wait His day, I wait His day.

 

3.  Whate’er my God ordains is right: Though now this cup, in drinking,

May bitter seem to my faint heart, I take it, all unshrinking:

My God is true; each morn anew sweet comfort yet shall fill my heart,

And pain and sorrow shall depart, shall depart.

 

4.  Whate’er my God ordains is right: Here shall my stand be taken;

Though sorrow, need, or death be mine, yet I am not forsaken;

My Father’s care is round me there; He holds me that I shall not fall:

And so to Him I leave it all, I leave it all.  Amen.

Text: Samuel Rodigast, 1675, Tr. by Catherine Winkworth, 1829-1878

Music: Joy Medford Malone, 2002

6 thoughts on “Whate’er My God Ordains is Right

  1. I actually didn’t get it from a hymnal! The church we went to printed it in their bulletin. Glad you liked it 🙂

  2. Heather, I love the hymn. Does it have a great tune, too?

    I also really like your banner. The photo makes me homesick because I love this time of year back home… when the squill is blooming (I know, its has a very unfitting name), when the wind is howling in the spruce, when the sun is climbing higher in the sky, when it is still cold, but warm enough to open the windows, when you can actually smell that spring is on the way. It is hard to smell spring down here, for spring is quite different from what I am used to. Spring is defintely here, and we’ll probably be on to summer in a matter of weeks.

    I have a big week ahead; we’re in the thick of what is said to be the hardest session. It is good to know that you all are praying for me.

  3. Stephen,

    The hymn did have a great tune, but I can’t remember it now! It wasn’t a familiar one to me.

    As to the banner, the squill is not blooming yet, but I wanted something cheery and bright, so it was the best one I found:-) I’ll try and capture some of spring and send it to you in an email!!

    Praying for you…

  4. Heather:
    Yesterday I visited a church in Phoenix AZ with my son’s family. We sang this Hymn. I sat down and wrote the composer’s name, so that I could look up the Hymn, print it out and have the words readily available whenever I wanted to be reassured/comforted that God is in ALL that is in my life; and ALL is ORDAINED by Him.
    How wonderful to know that there are others being encouraged by the very same Hymn.
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

