Happy Birthday, Martin!

Martin

Martin

Birthday celebrations continue in my family, with Martin and Justin’s birthday. They were born on the same day, two years apart!  After celebrating Martin’s 2nd birthday, mom had Justin, a perfect birthday gift! We celebrate both their birthdays on different days, because each one is unique and special.

Martin is a a boy who loves to read! If you can’t find Martin somewhere, we look for him curled up with a book! 🙂 He was very strong-willed as a young chap, but by the grace of God has learned how to use his strength in controled ways. He likes math and enjoys playing outside. This year he will be helping Nathan mow lawns for over fifteen customers in our neighborhood. I have seen Martin mature much over the past year, and I have observed a sincere desire to please the Lord develop in his heart. I am grateful to the Lord for placing him in our family. I love you, Martin! I pray that you would grow in your knowledge of the Lord in this 13th year of your life.

7 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Martin!

  1. Thanks Johann,
    I know, it’s hard to believe that I’m already a teen!
    To answer your question concerning the books I am reading, I am reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain (Samuel Clemens). I have found it interesting but it is not my favorite type of book.
    -Octavius

  2. Hullo Octavius,
    I don’t think of myself or you as teens…that seems too much like the myth of adolescence. But you are entering a new chapter in your life – congratulations!
    ~Johann

  3. Hi Johann,
    That’s right , we’re not teens, we’re youths, young men or lads.
    Right now, Joe has been calling me a Scarlet teenager, a play on words for Scarlet Tanager (which is a bird).
    -Octavius

  4. Quite so. I don’t believe the Tanager is native to NE OH; at least I’ve never seen one. If that’s so, you can tell Joe that you can’t be a Scarlet teenager, as they don’t inhabit these parts.
    ~Sic Semper Tyrannis~
    Johann Van De Leeuw

Leave a Reply

