The Joy of Speech

Sometimes I don’t realize the blessings I have until they are taken away, whether for a period of time or permanently. This past month I came down with a cold which quickly developed into laryngitis. I could barely talk for over a week! During this time as a family we had two music/singing performances, so I did my best to sing with no voice! As I have gotten better, I realized the blessing the Lord has given most people of the ability to express their thoughts to one another verbally. Truly the gift of speech is something I often take for granted. I’m reminded as well of the fact that when I speak, I want my words to be meaningful and life giving. How often I speak too quickly or without regard for the person I am talking with! These verses from Proverbs have helped me to keep my perspective in how I speak to others: “Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.” Proverbs 18:21 and then, “Whoever keeps his mouth and his tongue keeps himself out of trouble.” Proverbs 21:23. May the Lord remind you today of the joy of speech, and may He enable you to speak a word in season to those around you.

6 thoughts on “The Joy of Speech

  1. Happy Fourth of July Heather! We celebrated with y’all’s spud gun and some Amish bombs, courtesy of Josiah! πŸ™‚
    I’m expecting a good long post with lots of pictures of the Reformation 500! πŸ™‚

  2. What a good reminder Heather! Yes we need to always give thanks for things we sometimes overlook.

    Speaking is not always verbal. There are many ways that you have spoken truth – with your life, your encouragement, and your character.

    Psalm 15:1-2
    O Lord, who may abide in Your tent?
    Who may dwell on Your holy hill?
    He who walks with integrity, and works righteousness,
    And speaks truth in his heart.

  3. Hey! I dreamed about you last night. πŸ™‚
    So I am thinking about you today, and praying for you. I hope you’re having a blessed Sunday.
    Love ya.

  4. Great post, Heather! I often find myself taking things for granted… but I’m quickly reminded when I lose those things! πŸ™‚ I just read an older email devotional from Nancy Campbell on Hasty Words that was really good. Did you get that? I’ll forward it to you if you haven’t read it. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the reminder and encouragement to not take our abilities for granted and use those abilities for the glory of God!

  5. I just noticed – finding joy in such an everyday thing as speech is truly finding joy in the little things, eh?

Leave a Reply

