Reformation 500 Overview

Reformation 500 Children's Parade

Reformation 500 Children's Parade

July 1st-4th found most of my family and I in Boston, MA, for Vision Forum’s Reformation 500 conference. The four days were packed with excellent speakers, wonderful music and scenic historical tours. Over the past eight years or so my family has been greatly impacted by Vision Forum Ministries and their desire to build up the Christian family. We have learned much from the teaching tapes, books and materials they have printed. We were so blessed to be able to attend the conference through the provision of a scholarship and several friends blessing us with the ability to stay at the hotel where the conference was held!

One aspect of the week that I came away with was the fact that although the reformation was over 500 years ago, the truths that the reformers fought for (and some gave their life blood) are to be carried on in my own life. My desire is that I would be enabled through the grace of God to pass on the truths of the reformation: The Five Solas- Scripture Alone, Grace Alone, Faith Alone, Christ Alone, To the Glory of God Alone to my own children, should the Lord bless me someday. I cannot ride on the coat-tails of others, I must make my Christian faith mine and be faithful to pass on that faith to my children and to others around me. I must rise above the status quo and stand firm in my beliefs.

We started our trip by spending a night with a family in western MA (thanks to the Kulberg’s for their kind hospitality!). We then toured the town of Stockbridge, traveled to Plymouth for a quick tour of the historic sites and drove on to Boston and unpacked our van by the busy hotel. I will post some pictures below.

The "crew" happy to leave for the trip!

The "crew" happy to leave for the trip!

Stockbridge Library

Stockbridge Library

Gateway to a graveyard

Gateway to a graveyard

My family (plus a little friend) in front of Jonathan Edward's monument

My family (plus a little friend) in front of Jonathan Edward's monument

A church where Jonathan Edwards preached

A church where Jonathan Edwards preached

Inside the church

Inside the church

A stitchery hanging in the church- I thought the saying was excellent!

A stitchery hanging in the church- I thought the saying was excellent!

A new friend, Gideon, and Joseph

A new friend, Gideon, and Joseph

Faith of our Father's Monument-Plymouth

Faith of our Father's Monument-Plymouth

Old City Hall (our first mini tour in Boston)

Old City Hall (our first mini tour in Boston)

Paul Jehle, our tour guide

Paul Jehle, our tour guide

In front of the building where the Boston Massacre took place

In front of the building where the Boston Massacre took place

The Balcony where the Declaration of Independence was read for many years

The Balcony where the Declaration of Independence was read for many years

On the way to the harbor

On the way to the harbor

One thought on “Reformation 500 Overview

  1. HUZZAH! The long awaited post has at last arrived!
    As always, great pictures Heather! Looks like y’all had a downright glorious time. 🙂
    ~Johann

Leave a Reply

