A new chapter…

Friends, I have some exciting news to share! As of June 23rd a wonderful young man named Samson Dubina began courting me! My family has been getting to know Samson and his family for several months. Samson approached my dad in early May and began meeting with him and my family for an evaluation time, after which we officially began courting at the end of June. Samson is a God-fearing man, one who loves to share his faith with others. He desires to please God with his life and loves his family very much. He has played table tennis professionally and currently coaches and plays in some tournaments. He has worked as a paramedic in the past, and is trained as a firefighter/paramedic and is currently seeking a job in that field. Something I have grown to admire in Samson is his desire to please the Lord with his life and how he seeks to discover God’s will for his life in the Word of God. So many of our core convictions are the same, and it has been a delight for my family and I to get to know Samson!

Samson & I the night he asked to court me!

Samson & I the night he asked to court me!

I recently went with Samson and his family to Canada for a week-long vacation. I appreciated the time to get to know his parents, grandparents, sisters and brother-in-law better during that week. We spent the week boating, fishing, talking, reading the Bible, portaging from one lake to another and playing games. I really got to know Samson better, and we had many opportunities to talk things over and understand each others values and standards. I also observed first-hand how kind and patient Samson and his family were with the grandparents, making sure they had at least one fishing trip a day and helping them in and out of boats despite weak or bad knees! Here are a few pictures from the trip. The Lord is good, and His faithfulness reaches to the skies!!

Morning Sun Rays

Morning sun rays

Sunset on the horizon

Sunset on the horizon

Mist in the morning

Mist in the morning

Samson, me, Marissa with our catch of the day!

Samson, me & Marissa with our catch of the day!

Fire watchtower some of us climbed

Fire watch-tower some of us climbed

From the top of the firetower

From the top of the fire watch-tower

Sunfish I caught

Sunfish I caught

A bear at the town dump (the best place to find a bear!)

A bear at the town dump (the best place to find a bear!)

A beaver house- usually the best place to find minnows!

A beaver house- usually the best place to find minnows!

Samson with one of his grandmothers

Samson with one of his grandmothers

A cute statue in front of someone's house

A cute statue in front of someone's house

Getting the boat from one lake to the next (not me, Samson!)

Getting the boat from one lake to the next (Samson did all the work!)

With our fish of the day (photo taken by Mrs. Dubina)

With our fish of the day

Fishing

Fishing

Marissa (Samson's sister) dubed this a Norman Rockwell picture! :-)

Marissa (Samson's sister) dubbed this a Norman Rockwell picture! πŸ™‚

Samson and Marissa portaging

Samson and Marissa portaging

Samson water skiing

Samson water skiing

Samson & Me

Samson & Me (with flowers he picked for me!)

The boat dock

The boat dock

Marissa, Amanda & Me

Marissa, Amanda (Samson's other sister) & Me

Packing up to leave...

Packing up to leave... (Samson's Dad is on the right)

11 thoughts on “A new chapter…

  1. Happened to check your blog today and saw the happy announcement about you and Samson. This is very exciting! We will be praying for you both that the Lord will lead you and put His blessing on your relationship. Please send our best wishes to your brother and his bride-to-be.

  2. Heather, it certainly looks like you had a wonderful time!
    Congratulations to you and Samson on the beginning of your courtship! πŸ™‚

  3. Lori, thanks for the note! And thank you most especially for your prayers πŸ™‚ I’ll pass on the wedding wishes to my brother and his wife…

    Johann, thanks for your note too. Hey, we’re sorta related now πŸ˜‰

  4. Enjoying an opportunity to catch up on your blog today…so exciting to see your announcement and pictures from your trip! Mom’s going to be jealous when she hears you actually saw a bear – she’s been wanting to see one in the wild (from a safe distance) for years now. πŸ˜‰

  5. “Hey, we’re sorta related now ;)”
    Yeah!! That’s pretty cool!
    ‘Twas great fun seeing y’all last night, watching M&J opening their gifts…they’re coming over here to move M’s things tonight.
    Looking forward to more wedding pictures!
    Your brother in law, (not technically I guess, but oh well…:))
    ~Johann
    P.S. Say hi to Samson for me…I hope he can still hear all right after us all yelling hi over the phone to him…twice! Did he make a good supper the other night?

  6. Kirsten, thanks for the note! πŸ™‚ Maybe your mom will see a bear on their trip to CO!

    Johann, Indeed, it was fun watching M&J open their gifts. God has really blessed them! We stayed up late looking at the pictures from Megan Sunday night… hopefully we’ll be able to see Dave’s soon too. πŸ™‚ I’ll pass on your greeting to Samson next time I see him. The supper he made the other night was really good- Japanese Curry with Chicken and Vegetables! Yum!!

  7. Yyyyyyyyyyyyeaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!! wwwwwwuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuhuuuuu!!!!!!!!!!!!! wao! I’m really happy, wao! I know that God bless but, wao!, That’s nice. One day I was talking with my best friend, my father, about the group that was here, and we say that you’re one of the most pious, of the women. an I was thinking that God’ll prepare someone to you, someone very special like David: a men how the God’s hearth. For your description I think that this men, is one that has the priorities in the correct place, for example God/ the 1st place, that’s important addition he has a t-shirt of Casting Crowns, a great group! wuhu. So I’ll pray for you, that God fulfill its purpose in you. That God know what is the better of us, (that’s a good option don’t waste it ) =) I enjoy with you, but we have to pray. And something good to a great relationship is the comunication, that’s very important, I know that you begging good, Coment to tha Bible, and talk about Jesus is the best!!!. I love you Hether. God bless you, and please say hello to: Samson.=)

  8. Magdiel, thank you for your congratulations! Please keep Samson and I in your prayers as we want to glorify God in all that we do and say.
    I’m so glad your father is your best friend! May I encourage you to love and respect his leadership and guidance in your life. I love you, Magdiel! May the Lord bless you and make His face shine upon you. ~Heather

Leave a Reply

